2014 Year In Review

Physically, the biggest difference since last December is my personal sense of style has finally been solidified that reflects my comfort in myself. I’ve found the perfect shade of red for my hair ( too many white hairs are showing up and I’m too vain mmmkay?) , I’m rocking the bangs like a boss, and my everyday outfit of a knit maxi skirt, shirt, and cardigan has earned me countless compliments. Yes, folks, 2014 saw me finally growing into my own. 

Psychologically, the biggest difference since last December is the increasing feeling of calm that has been slowly growing over the years. I am at times shocked how things don’t upset me like it used to and the things that do upset me are quickly dropped. This is the year that people have commented that I am so calm and peaceful to be around…and I actually feel that way too.

Emotionally, the biggest difference since last December is  that I am happier and more emotionally healthy than I have ever been. There’s something to say about life getting better the older you get. 

Spiritually, the biggest difference since last December is the newest twist in the often turning world of my spiritual journey: Heathenism. Yep, a few months ago I stopped running after nearly ten years and stood still long enough to begin learning about the Gods of my ancestors. I’ve nearly completed two translations of the Poetic Edda and will begin an Introduction to Heathenism with some friends in just a few days. This — welcoming the Vanir and Aesir Gods — is the biggest change for my life in 2014. The other change within my spiritual life is that I set up an official family shrine in the most lived in part of our home to which I have slowly been adding things to it. 

Environmentally, the biggest difference since last December is  the home decor improvements: we got new and antique furniture, painted walls, actually made a proper guest room, painted the bathroom cabinets. In other words, this was the year of making my home prettiful. 

Socially, the biggest difference since last December is all of the friends! It’s taken me a bit of time to get comfortable in this town, but I am now proud to say that I have local friends. Local friends, people! It’s fantastic! 

I stopped worrying so much about what other’s opinion are about how I live my life: it’s good enough for me. Also? I’ve dropped the Drama Llama Mamas.

I started becoming heavily involved in my community: I am the Committee Chair in Thadd’s  Troop and I am the President of his school’s PTA, and accepting more teaching opportunities, but I have also started to embrace my limitations by knowing when I have had enough stimulation and need a break from people. Because, introvert yo.

I created cute little statues out of clay of Poseidon and Hephaestus  for Thadd’s personal shrine that was a lot of fun. I also participated in NaNoWriMo this year in which the creation of a particular story happened. I didn’t finish it, but I am satisfied with what I have so far. 

I loved Doctor Who, Walking Dead, Downton Abbey, Meghan Trainor, Taylor Swift, The Immortal Instruments, and the Infernal Devices. 

I went back to my family’s land this summer that re-energized my connection to my ancestors. I love visiting the land, seeing the old photographs, reading the old letters. There’s something very magical about the place, and every time we put food out in the woods to feed the “critters” I can feel the local spirits around me. 

I relaxed when ever I got a chance with good books, TV shows, and music. 

I felt gratitude when I thought about all that I have been blessed with: my family with an amazing husband and two of the very best kids in the history of the world; amazing friends that encompass those that I know online and those that I know in person. I am also very grateful that our finances are stable after our struggling early years of marriage. 

I was fulfilled by counting all of my blessings mentioned above.

The one thing I learned this year is there is a season for everything and nothing will last forever. The important thing is to carry in your heart the good memories and let go of any hurt or anger. Be like Elsa and “Let It Go”. 

5 thoughts on “2014 Year In Review”

Leave a Reply

